Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Suggestions for my y8 turbo build

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2012, 10:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suggestions for my y8 turbo build

Hey HT,
I decided instead of swapping to a b16a, to keep and boost my y8. i have a dx coupe I swapped the y8 head on and it left me wanting more. im planning on turbo, I just bought the y8 block and tranny and am planning on building it up during the winter. my goal is 300whp on pump gas, havent decided on a turbo yet, this is my first build and there are many things i have left to learn. so far for the block im planning on purchasing:

vitara pistons
eagle h beam rods with arp's

is that an ideal setup for the block to reach 300? i will get the head pnp and will fully build that also, just focusing on block for now.
now ive read of a bunch of people with vitaras that have a slap noise to it. Is that common? I really would like my motor to sound decent if im going to dump money into it... I hate odd noises

also, any other piston/rod combo i should look into? i obviously want to save as much money since this will be my dd, but I want to make sure I dont cheap out on quality. I heard i beams were ideal, but im having a tough time findind any. thanks for helping the new guy, ive lurked on this site for months for build ideas and it hasnt dissapointed.
Old 09-24-2012, 11:56 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Suggestions for my y8 turbo build

Slapping noises are generally caused by incorrect P2W clearances. H beams should be fine for the power you're looking at, just check with the manufacturer to make sure they're rated to a bare minimum of 75 hp per rod, preferably 100.

Personally, I'm a fan of CP pistons for any power level, and Carillo rods for your goals. IIRC, the rods are on par price wise with the Eagles, but the CP pistons are noticeably more expensive.