Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

rocker shaft spring not pressing out

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2014, 02:01 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rocker shaft spring not pressing out

I have a 98 Honda Civic w D16Y7 engine
I had head remachined and they had to rework the exhaust valves, cam shaft, put new valve seals on....

after installing the block ..it was noisy (they had also adjusted the valve lash)...
after trying to adjust the valve lash again I notices that the end rocker arm
could slide left and right... this is because the rocker arm spring is bent in and not pushing out
...see picture https://flic.kr/p/pPEXWu
and video

could this cause noise ?
could this cause harm if not fixed ?
should the machine shop have caught this ?
is it possible to take off the end block and slide this off and fix ..or is that pretty complicated (I'm a rookie)
recommendations ?
Old 10-27-2014, 03:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: rocker shaft spring not pressing out

From diagrams alone I can see it should be more straight and not bent in like that. The shop must of missed that pffft....

I have a D15B7 I just had car quest resurface and clean. I had to remove the camshaft so I removed the rocker arm assembly, Later once I had the head back I assembled the rocker arm assembly after I cleaned it and noticed it was missing a wave washer that caused the rocker arm to move around.
I looked into a diagram and seen that there should be one there so what I am getting at is no it should not move that much and that spring should be adjusted closer to the arm.

you will have to remove the rocker assembly and remove the right side bolts holding the shafts and remove the bearing cap and remove that arm and pull that spring and re-adjust it by eye until you feel satisfied with its position.
Old 10-27-2014, 05:15 PM
Hysterically Calm

Received 562 Likes on 481 Posts

Originally Posted by JPRhome