Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Rattling noise when Vtec?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2007, 03:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rattling noise when Vtec?

Hey does anyone know if its normal to hear a rattling sound when deaccelerating from Vtec!? As in i go up to 6000rpm but dont shift and let go of accelerator,also sometimes does it when im accelerating up to 5000-6000 is this normal or what ! if not what is that noise! Thanx for any input im kinda new to honda's
Old 06-16-2007, 03:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Rattling noise when Vtec? (mortificationrock)

i have experienced a rattling noise when hitting vtec and i found it to be a loose heat shield around the catalytic converter. try disconnecting your vtec and hitting the same rpm and see if it still rattles. check your heat shield and see if it is loose.
Old 06-16-2007, 03:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Rattling noise when Vtec? (jonathan13)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by jonathan13 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">i have experienced a rattling noise when hitting vtec and i found it to be a loose heat shield around the catalytic converter. try disconnecting your vtec and hitting the same rpm and see if it still rattles. check your heat shield and see if it is loose.</TD></TR></TABLE> Thanx for your response Anyone else got any hints or tips?
Old 06-16-2007, 03:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Probably the heat shield, record it if you want a better answer.
Old 06-16-2007, 03:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Rattling noise when Vtec? (Syndacate)