Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Question with my vtec head

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2015, 04:25 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question with my vtec head

93 Honda Civic si ( b16a head, b18a bottom) 5 speed standard

I jus got this im a little new to Vtecs And I've notied some have really small air filters attached to it or they have a hose leading to somewhere else I have no clue and mine has neither.

Last edited by Jjeessee; 04-24-2015 at 03:15 AM. Reason: Thread lock
Old 03-25-2015, 04:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Question with my vtec head

I've circled what I need to know!
Old 03-25-2015, 04:54 AM
Loves Tossing Salad

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts

PCV. See the black cover on your intake pipe? There usually would be a hose that runs from your valve cover to that black cover to release pressure from the crankcase. It's fine the way it is, most people when installing an aftermarket intake run into the problem of it not having the outlet for the PCV hose to connect to and just put a small filter on the outlet on the valve cover.
Old 03-25-2015, 05:01 AM
Honda-Tech Member

In the picture above there would normally be a hose connecting the valve cover to the ARC intake at the black circle or hole at the 1 O'clock position from the point you circled.

The purpose of the crank case breather is to release gas that leaks past the piston rings... it happens in all engines even the healthiest. Pressure can build up in the crank case which needs to be ventilated and this is how it does that... along with the PCV. Here is a quote I found on team-integra.com from surferX

"The honda crankcase breather is a POSITIVE pressure ventilation system.The air from the intake blows into the valve cover. It is NOT a negative pressure ventilation system...it does NOT suck air from the valvecover to the intake.