Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Valve cover breather?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2015, 09:33 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Valve cover breather?

Hey im a newbie to all this but I recently bought a EK Hatch Off my buddy. It has a B16A with a Type R manifold, Headers, Aem Fuel Rail, and a CAI. I noticed a tiny breather looks like an intake on my valve cover. He said when he bought the valve cover it came with it already attached. I know a hose from the valve cover should run to the intake but this breather is in place of that hose. The entry for the hose on the intake is open. I know its for ventialtion purposes but i was reading that on engines that rev to high RPMs its best to keep it on instead of a hose. Just want to Know if its true or not. I checked other similar threads but its really just a bunch of people going back and forth saying yes and no towards its functionality. Should I keep it on and plug that entry on the intake? or just run a hose?
Old 05-27-2015, 09:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 44 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Re: Valve cover breather?

Run the breather hose on the valve cover to the intake, or add a filter. You don't want dirt and debris getting sucked into the head and crankcase. Also make sure the PCV hose and valve are connected to the IM and oil breather chamber.
Old 05-27-2015, 09:43 PM
Hysterically Calm

Received 562 Likes on 481 Posts

From what I understand, it's best to return to stock setup and run the hose from the intake to the valve cover. This pressurizes the PCV system which in turn reduces blow-by to some degree. If you wish to reduce oil going into your intake for the high rpm it's best to add a quality oil catch can in between the breather box and the entry point into the intake. Your choice if it is before or after the PCV valve itself.