Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

painting my car...need a few questions answered

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2005, 03:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default painting my car...need a few questions answered

i tried this post int he appearence/cosmetics forums but no one is anwering so i'll post it here too.

I got my air brush setup and compressor all ready. I got a quart of paint and everything to mix in with it and such. I was origionally going to just fix rust but idk how that will look with brand new shinny paint on top of old faded 11 year old paint. I was thinking of just sanding my entire car and priming and painting it. My car is a 94 civic dx 4dr sedan. Don't flame me and tell me I'm and idiot because of all the work im putting in front of me. I'm well aware of all the work that has to be done and this will probably take a week or two because I'm not a profesional.

1) would you recommend only sanding parts of the car and painting them or all at once?
2) about how many gallons will i need to cover my car?
3) the front lip and back fender are plastic, how can i get the old paint off or should i just paint over the top of it?

these are all the questions i have right now and any help answering would be appreciated. Also tips and tricks of painting are welcomed.

thanks in advance
Old 07-06-2005, 03:41 PM

Default Re: painting my car...need a few questions answered (Cypher0117)

You should of read my paint thread,

Anyhow, to answer your questions what I did with mine was just sanded out the rust spots and repaired them as necessary. Then I used bondo where it needed it and then just put a primer coat over everything I didn't sand anything down to the metal it was kind of a waste of time.