Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

New, and need help

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2007, 06:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New, and need help

Ok so I'm new to import tunning. I have a car I bought from a family member to fix, and drive. The car will only start if I pump the gas pedal, and will only run if I keep giving it gas. I replaced the fuel filter and it started and ran on it's own for about 5 minutes. Then back to having to pump the gas for it to start, and keep my foot on the gas to keep it running. When it was running the idle was really rough. When I opened the trunk to air out the carpet I saw about an inch or two of water around the spare tire (if that means anything). So if anyone could help give me ideas as to what to do. It was delivered to me with a full tank of gas, and I don't want to have to drain the tank if I can help it.
Old 02-02-2007, 06:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: New, and need help (95ex)

do a tune up and top end cleaning. just do maintence and see what happens. sounds like the car was poorly maintained
Old 02-02-2007, 06:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: New, and need help (fmrprojects)

If I were in your shoes I'd spring for new spark plugs, spark plug wires, distributor cap, rotor, fresh oil, oil & air filters, pcv valve, double-check the timing, etc... basically try to catch up on all the normal routine maintenance, in case whoever had it before you decided that because it's a Honda it doesn't need any maintenance.

Oh, if the family member was the type of person who'd want to "make his car go fast" but doesn't know much about cars, you may want to pay special attention to the timing. There are a lot of idiot kids out there who think turning their distributor all the way forward gives them extra power.
Old 02-02-2007, 07:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: New, and need help (MonkeyBoy668)