Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

New to cars, would love some help

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2009, 12:58 AM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to cars, would love some help

Hey honda-tech,

I'm pretty new to playing with cars, never really had the interest, until I met a friend who lives in Florida, who had a great civic hatch, and realized what a great thing to be into. So I sold my Saab, and bought myself a 1998 Honda Civic [2dr].

The car is pretty stock, other than an exhaust and an air intake. It came that way, so i've done ultimately nothing to it. I was wondering what I should start with, what will make my car faster, and more fun, at a decent price. I hear a lot of the B16 engine, so I think that will be next. What else do I need to replace with that engine? Any starters help would be great! Appreciate it, and look forward to talking with you all.
Old 06-07-2009, 01:32 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: New to cars, would love some help

How much are you willing to spend?
How mechanically inclined are you when it comes to automobiles?
What are your goals, other than faster and more fun?
How strict is your state on emmisions?
Old 06-07-2009, 01:33 AM
Honda-Tech Member

welcome,
since you just got you car, just focus on the way it looks first. get it waxed, lower it, wheels, lip kit, t 99-00 tail lights, ctr headlights & then worry about making it faster unless you have the money for a complete engine swap.
Old 06-07-2009, 01:37 AM
Honda-Tech Member

welcome. most of the time with swap's you would want to replace seal's, gaskets,water pump, oil pump, timing belt, oil filter. Feel free to add more people's.
Old 06-07-2009, 01:40 AM
Honda-Tech Member