Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Engine Swap - Need Help Pretty Bad

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2006, 09:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Swap - Need Help Pretty Bad

Ok, for starters I am pretty new to the Honda world but anything else is cake. I have a friend he has a 98 civic ex 4 dr with a 1.6 vtec and abs. Well he had, he blow up his motor, so he bought a parts car from his cuz for $50(it was a rollover). The parts car is a 96 civic dx 4 dr with the 1.6 non-vtec($50 for a very good running motor with 70k miles. another vetec motor was going to cost him like 500 from a junkyard and 800 for a jdm import) I took everything off the parts car (wiring harness and all cables, even pos. batt.) and engine, evap, trans, ecu and ect. took everything off his car wireing engine trans evap, ecu, ect. put it all in his and i get nothing it just makes a click. His dad said somthing about someone told him you might need some kind of code for the computer to reset(i thought that was just for oem stereos). and he also has this anti theft thing from the dealer he bought it from that you punch in a code in this wireless remote and it beeps in the car and when you get the right code it gives you a good sound and bad sound for bad code. the old code does not work anymore, so im guessing it has something to do with it but dont know yet. tomorrow I'm going to check the solenoid wire on the starter for power. my friend said that if it were push started it would turn on with out the code so we might try that also.

P.S. Yes we are going from vtech to non-vtech only because he got the motor for 50, it runs great, and times are rought they wanted 1500 for a swap/engine replacement I charged him 100 and he got his motor for 50, big price diff for him and a little extra cash for me. Hes been with out his car a few months and he
needs it pretty bad so I'm just trying to help.

Anyways just looking for some help hope someone can help.