Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Del Sol will not start in the winter cold any tricks?

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2018, 11:38 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Del Sol will not start in the winter cold any tricks?

Hello everyone, Del Sol Newbie here and new to the forum. Question, does anyone have any tricks or is there a way to winterize a honda del sol? It runs fine most of the year but as it has started getting colder and near winter my car does not want to turn over and start if left outside in the elements all night. As in I turn the key and nothing. No click, no turn, the headlights dont even want to turn on. Its as if the car is completely frozen which would lead me to think its a wiring issue. Now if I push my car back into the garage and or let the temp warm up a little then by around lunchtime it has de-thawed and will turn over eventually and the headlights actually turn on.
So my 2 part question is does this sound like or is this a wire issue or is this just every honda del slo left out in the cold issue? or is there a special wire covering or anything that would help winterize the engine or wiring and allow for better start-up after being left outside to the elements?

Any help would be great. Thanks
Old 10-15-2018, 01:48 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Del Sol will not start in the winter cold any tricks?

How cold does it get when these issues happen? How old is the battery, and have you checked its voltage when this occurs? Time to start poking around the next time it does this. I suspect the battery voltage may be dipping too low to start the car.

Is this D or B series? You need to also consider a block heater depending on your temperatures. The D series are designed to have one installed on the back of the engine, above the oil filter but below the intake. There's a plug that gets removed to install it. Not sure if B is the same.