Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Dash & running lights won't turn off.

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2018, 11:39 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dash & running lights won't turn off.

Ok, my 93 del sol began quite suddenly having an issue with the dash & running lights. They do not turn off. I work on my own cars and I'm an electronics engineer. So, I checked a few things out and concluded it must be a broken switch on the stalk/steering column. I removed the switch, and decided to disassemble it to see if something was physically broken or if the comtacts were dirty. Hey, the car has 400k miles on it.
The switch was physically fine internally...really simple set of slide contacts. However, the contacts were very dirty. Cleaned it up, reassembled, and dully tested good. Prior to all this I disconnected the battery.
So, I put thr switch back in place and no dice. I was OK with thinking I needed to buy a new switch. Without thinking, I unplugged the switch without disconnecting the battery. And guess what?
The dash/side marker lights still stayed ON. Yup, no switch hooked up and lights on.
I cannot find anything like a dedicated relay for these lights which indicates a simple circuit running through the switch and associated fuses. I've checked both fuse boxes (under dash & engine bay) and fuses are good. Obviously there is a short which bypasses the full off switch position. But I'm not having luck finding where. Has anyone come across this and could provide me with pointers? Is it possible that the problem is in the instrument cluster? Only reason I ask is that over the past year my speedo registers about 1/2 the actual speed I'm traveling. I understand that to be related to dirty contacts on the back of the cluster. But I haven't yet seen info connecting the cluster and light function.