Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

D series Valve replacement

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2009, 07:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default D series Valve replacement

I am looking to replace my valves in my del sol. I found 7 bent valves when I pulled off the head. I have tried searching on here for a write up and havent found anything. I am looking to replace all the valves and anything else that needs to be done upon removing the valves. I also need to know what tools are required and any tips on doing this. I am pretty new to engine internals but im a quick learner. So please can someone send me either a link or give me some help on how to do this. Thank you
Old 06-12-2009, 09:01 PM

Default Re: D series Valve replacement

well ur better off buying a full set of valve springs/retainers and valves , ull need a valve spring compresser and some other tools i suggest you take it to a workshop unless u can find a detailed diy which im sure is floating around.... are u doin other maintainence also ie; head gasket / intake manifold gasket? and you probably shold be machining the head(re-surfacing) and to prevent warpage, new headstuds/valve cover studs etc...
Old 06-13-2009, 06:01 PM

I was planning on doing a new headgasket and intake and exhaust. The head studs look fine. The and same with the valve cover studs. I also plan to install aftermarket valves and springs. Would i need to have the block decked if I machine the head?
Old 06-13-2009, 07:36 PM