Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

A/C problem? Parked in Las Vegas sun for >30 mins, A/C takes ~25 min to cool car

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2010, 10:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C problem? Parked in Las Vegas sun for >30 mins, A/C takes ~25 min to cool car

Hey all.

I'm a noob to the honda game and was wondering what was wrong with my a/c?

Ok, so my a/c does work, but when it's left out in the sun for more than 30 mins, it's takes about 25 minutes for the a/c to get cold.

Could it be the a/c belt?

Or does it just need to be recharged?
Old 09-28-2010, 10:43 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Problem with my A/C?

Originally Posted by frisco_ek
Hey all.

I'm a noob to the honda game and was wondering what was wrong with my a/c?

Ok, so my a/c does work, but when it's left out in the sun for more than 30 mins, it's takes about 25 minutes for the a/c to get cold.

Could it be the a/c belt?

Or does it just need to be recharged?
Park in the shade.
Old 09-28-2010, 10:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by decko
Park in the shade.
can't always do that in Vegas man.
Old 09-29-2010, 06:26 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 44 Likes on 22 Posts

You need to buy or rent a manifold gauge set to check the refrigerant pressures on the high and low sides.
Old 09-29-2010, 06:37 AM
Honda-Tech Member

refrigerant ...!
Old 09-29-2010, 08:34 AM
Honda-Tech Member

I live in Phoenix so I feel your LV pain. One thing to remember is that when we park in the sun our cars BAKE and it takes time to cool everything down. Everything in that car is about 150 degrees and is radiating heat until your A/C cools it off. I do two things to get cooled off faster. First is turning off recirculate until the inside air is about the same temp as outside. Better to cool 105 degree outside air than 150 degree inside air. Second, I open my windows for a mile or so to help cool off the inside faster.