Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

breaks acting funny

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2004, 02:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default breaks acting funny

i have a 93 hatch and the breaks seem to be sticking sometimes, not sticking a lot but enought that when i stop at a stop sign and go to take off again, u can notice them holding a little bit. new pads, rotors, shoes in rear and calipers are new too.

when i break first time the pedal goes down past half before i get breaking power and after that when i use them again to come to a complete stop the pedal hardly has to move at all to get full breaking power. after i take off and drive for a bit and try to stop again, same thing. i was thinking that the breaks needed to be bled, but havent tried it yet and thought id ask here to see what u guys thought

please dont critize my post cause im a noob

PS- the rotors get really hot after i stop driving and there is quite a bit of break dust as well. could it just be cause the pads and rotors are fairly new? ive been driving it for a few weeks now and the guy who had the car before me was driving it for a while too. i dont feel too safe until i figure out whats going on here

Modified by CRXified at 12:02 AM 10/25/2004
Old 10-24-2004, 03:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: breaks acting funny (CRXified)

Did you bleed your brakes properly after installation? Sounds like you might have air in the line. Also after you first installed them it would have been a good idea to take it for a test drive and "slam" the brakes a few times from 5 mph to 0. about 3-5 times.
Old 10-24-2004, 03:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: breaks acting funny (SRCivic97)