Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Brake Spongy, all new parts Bled proper, at a loss, help!

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2018, 04:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Spongy, all new parts Bled proper, at a loss, help!

New member here, picked up a 96 civic coupe 2dr, with abs on the weekend. brakes felt spongy when i picked up the car. Car didnt have much history, so on my lunch break at work today, i replaced the master cylinder, both front calipers, pads, rotors, wheel cylinders etc.
I have been a technician for 7 years at a local ford dealer, and have never run into this issue.
Brakes are still spongy as hell. i bench bled the master , bled the brakes rr, lf, lr, rf as per all data. rear brakes are adjusted properly, no leaks.
Pressure bled the system about 2L of brake fluid following that pattern, still no change.
Pedal feels very firm with the car off, but running, she goes right to the floor.
Removed master and measured brake pushrod clearance with a micrometer, and depth of master - good.
So my question is this .., this car has abs. is there a chance the abs unit is bad, bypassing? or could i have a bad proportioning valve? both are fairly expensive parts in my neck of the woods, and just wanted to see if anyone else has had same sort of problems with the spongy / no brake and a faulty proportioning valve or bad abs unit?
Note: also tried capping off both lines off master and pressing brake pedal, and its firm, so i dont believe the new master is bad. i have good fluid flow out all bleeders. have tried pressure bleeding it, reverse bleeding it, and the usual 2 man bleed. ..
I also used the search function on this forum, and read an ton of threads, but most dont have a conclusion, or exhibit the same symptoms i am having.

Would appreciate any input.
Thanks
Old 04-30-2018, 09:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts