Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

98 ex 61k miles.. Developing a long crank time!

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2013, 05:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 98 ex 61k miles.. Developing a long crank time!

Hey HondaTech,

This is my first time posting. I was going to post first about a random p0505 code i was getting but turned out to be the base idle was set wrong.

My new problem is that my car (98 civic ex 61k miles) takes a long time to start after it sits for a while (over an hour). I thought it was the FPR and I replaced it but the problem remains. I have a brand new Iacv and Tps is calibrated correctly if that is related. I can hear my fuel pump prime and when its warm it starts on the second crank like it should. It takes 7-8 cranks to start when its cold and sometimes its not the smoothest turnover.

I'd just like to know what to check from here? Fuel filter? Leaking injectors? (exhaust smells like gas when it starts) Compression test? (car does not lack power and runs smooth) Any help would be Awesome! I frequent this forum and I have gotten a bunch of help from reading. I'm hoping the group here can help me solve this and I cant wait to start helping solve others problems from my experiences! Thanks!
Old 09-10-2013, 06:01 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 98 ex 61k miles.. Developing a long crank time!

btw, spark plugs/wires are new, dizzy cap and rotor are new. I tested dizzy coils and they seem ok.New upstream o2. Ignition timing is spot on. Adjusted valves today, no change. It must be a fuel problem but I dont know how to confirm that! Thanks again!
Old 09-11-2013, 02:44 AM
Retired Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

if it smelling like gas, then you have your answer.
Old 09-11-2013, 05:40 AM
Honda-Tech Member