Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

97 Civic Hx Mechanical Help!

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2006, 07:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 Civic Hx Mechanical Help!

I have a 97 civic hx with some mechanical problems(please bare with me as I'm a noob mechanics)
1.My main problem right now is my shifting. Whoever had my car before me converted it from automatic to manual, I can hear my shiftlinkage rattling underneath the car, for a while my shifting got really hard to change gears, i got it fixed about 8 months ago, it was some pad that had worn out, however the problem is back, its to the point where I cant reverse with out grinding gears 3 or 4 times before it slips in. Gears 4 and 5 go in with ease, but 1,2,3 and mainly reverse suck. My question is what is causing this to go out so quick and what can I do to fix it.

2. Because my shifting was so hard I had been trying to force the damn thing to slip in gear and yes Im a dumbass and actually snaped my shifting rod(if thats the correct name for it) I'm really just needing the name for that part so i can replace it. I dont want to walk in to a junkyard and be like, hey do you have a shifting thingamabob for a civic.