Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

97 Ex: DIY Alarm install? I looked through stickies and no luck :/

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2012, 08:43 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Icon6 97 Ex: DIY Alarm install? I looked through stickies and no luck :/

Ive seen some alarms on Amazon that arent too pricey and I would like to give it a shot. I have a 97 Ex and I figured $40 isnt much for an alarm.
Ive wired stereos and woofers so I have basic wire knowledge. Now I would like to give this a shot!

Any DIY links? I mainly want to do it for the power locks lol.
Old 03-14-2012, 09:09 PM
SHAME ON YOU REBECCA!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 97 Ex: DIY Alarm install? I looked through stickies and no luck :/

All you need are wiring diagrams and a place to mount the key-less entry unit.

Although it's for a 94 accord it is the same generation so you should be good.
http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/...tail/1033.html

If you do it, make a DIY because I need to install mine.

Which reminds me I have a commando key-less entry bought a few years ago and I have to install it in my car , I think I'm scared I'll mess something up
Old 03-14-2012, 09:49 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Remove the steering column lower trim cover. It should snap off with no tools. Zip tie the alarm module to the metal bracket. All the wires that you need to pigtail off for the alarm are right there including keyless entry if your alarm has it.

Cheers!
Old 03-15-2012, 05:29 AM
He knows where you live!

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by HonBeer
Remove the steering column lower trim cover. It should snap off with no tools. Zip tie the alarm module to the metal bracket. All the wires that you need to pigtail off for the alarm are right there including keyless entry if your alarm has it.

Cheers!
Incorrect. You'll break off the screw that's behind the coin tray.