Notices

Waste gate hook up/ general ?s

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2019, 03:31 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Waste gate hook up/ general ?s

I’m working on my sons 89 crx, b16. Trying to button up a few things with th basic turbo kit we are putting in. It’s the first turbo I’ve dealt with although I’ve been working on cars a long time and I’m an industrial mechanic/machinist by trade.
This will be a basic setup, minimal boost, 8 pounds or so, no intercooler just dipping out toes in th the water.
As for the waste gate , there’s a barb on top and a threaded hole for a fitting in the base. From what I’ve read it needs to be hooked to the turbo housing to reference boost pressure. First off, I Don’t see any ports in the housing for a fitting. Nowhere in the intake piping to grab it either.
My son says we can use engine vacuum since a vacuum port will be pressurized in a boost condition..:so something in the throttl body?? Doesn’t seem to make sense to me.
Also despite all I’ve read about solenoids, controllers, and multiple hoses, he tells me we need only the one line to the wastegate (at a bare minimum) to make it work.

Then theres th blowoff valve which , if we install it, requires a vacuum reference...which in my mind a tap into the throttle body would be the ticket ..but following my sons logic, that would be under pressure under boost, right?

So all engine vacuum sources become pressurized? Certainly not pressurizing th brake booster?!?!

In short—wastegate needs boost pressure reference, bov needs vacuum reference: my son seems to think boost/vacuum are one and the same as far as referencing the two devices and so could both read from the same area..like two ports in the manifold.