Notices

turbo restrictor and block fitting question

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2015, 09:26 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default turbo restrictor and block fitting question

First question. In the past I have ran a 1/8 npt T fitting on the block, to a 4an line to a 4 way fitting on the firewall, with the stock and aftermarket oil pressure gauges connector to it. Then a 4an line to the turbo. I want to replace the block oil t fitting with a 1/8 Bspt to 1/8npt adaptor. I ordered a glowshift fitting and it has what looks to be a 2mm restrictor built into it(I dont have any precise measuring tools). Would this lower the pressure going to my oil pressure sending units? Should I drill it out to make it wider?

Second question. I have a master power r6164 oil and water fed turbo. Should i run a oil restrictor going into it? This is on a gsr engine.
Attached Images  
Old 08-01-2015, 08:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: turbo restrictor and block fitting question

Bump. Does anyone know if the adaptor will cause the oil pressure sensors to read wrong, or cause a lack of oil to get to the turbo? Any help is appropriated.
Old 08-03-2015, 09:37 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by tasco
Bump. Does anyone know if the adaptor will cause the oil pressure sensors to read wrong, or cause a lack of oil to get to the turbo? Any help is appropriated.
You should be ok to use an adapter out of the block to a remote T on the firewall, that T (actually a TT) will have one entrance port, once exit port to your turbo, and one port for your BSPT oil pressure sender for the dummy light on your dash.

Edit; B series blocks have the pressure sender port PRE filter. I would suggest a sandwich plate that has access to filtered oil to feed your turbo. Better to have layers of security than risk some RTV getting lodged in your oil feed fitting.

If you want to use a restrictor, put it directly at the oil feed on the turbo charger.