Notices

Turbo GSR setup in 92 VX, Help....

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2003, 08:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Turbo GSR setup in 92 VX, Help....

I have a 92 VX with UDSM 99 B18C1 swap using a 95 OBDI P72 ECU. I'm planning to get a "out of the box" ready kit: I was trying to decide between the Drag III and Revhard 2 but I'm pretty sure that I'll be going with the Drag III.
Anyway, the motor is internally stock and I've been running it in my car for about 2 years and it now has just over 25,000 miles on it. I don't want to tear the motor down and replace the pistons, install a block guard, etc. I'm concerned about engine life and over reliability and what not, which most of you boosted guys get sick of hearing about. I plan to install the kit and run the stock boost (6-7psi) and follow any and all instructions and not be a boost hungry jackass.
I'm not close to any tuning places, nearest ones are at least 100 miles + away and I'm not even sure if they are even good. So I basically am stuck tuning by an A/F gauge which I know is pretty useless. I understand that the FMU does it's job to get you up and running and I really can't afford a standalone or Hondata at this time. Since I don't plan to boost anymore that what the kit is intended for, I am hoping that the FMU will work for me. I would appreciate any and all feedback toward the kit selection and any potential problems that I might encounter.
Old 07-13-2003, 08:55 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I reccomend you buy bigger fuel injectors, maybe 310's + FMU, or 440's + VAFC.

An upgraded ignition would help you alot, you want to be certain you are getting a good burn. With that ignition, some timing control would help as well, either BTM or Vari Curve.

Pull out some base timing.
Lower your heat range on your plugs.

And watch your #4 cylinder, notorious for cracked ring lands!

**** YEAH!
My 420th post!
Old 07-13-2003, 09:01 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (psi420)