Notices

Turbo Gods. I have a real question!(EGT)

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2004, 06:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo Gods. I have a real question!(EGT)

Who out there knows anything about an EGT gauge. What is the Exsaust temp suppose to be reading at? What's the safe zone? Where is it at when your ***** gonna melt? I got a reading of 850 degrees at normal driving. 600 degrees at idle. 950-1150 depending on how hard i beat it. I just want to know what to expect out of the readings and nobody that is into turbos seem to know. So I guess I need the hard core know it all turbo freek in order to get an answer to, what i thought, a simple question.
Old 03-30-2004, 07:15 PM

Default Re: Turbo Gods. I have a real question!(EGT) (dainteg)

bump
Old 03-30-2004, 07:19 PM
B A N N E D

Bump for a good question
Old 03-31-2004, 05:25 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Turbo Gods. I have a real question!(EGT) (VNTEC)

not a egt expert,

but those temps seem low. where is your gauge located.

stuff starts to melt at like ~1500 - 1600

platinum.
Old 03-31-2004, 05:31 AM

Default Re: Turbo Gods. I have a real question!(EGT) (platinum00)

I have an autometer gauge and it only goes up to about 1600 degrees. the probe/sensor is located in the actual turbo manifold in tapped into the thrid runner.

Common this should be a pretty easy question for you turbo freaks. An EGT gauge is important to know when your car is ready to be beaten on and to see when you shouldn't push it anymore. it tells you rich/lean by temp. and its a tool use in finding out the right timing. Yet no one seems to know what temp everything should be reading at.
Old 03-31-2004, 05:44 AM