Notices

THROTTLE BODY EXPERTS

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2014, 10:19 AM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Default THROTTLE BODY EXPERTS

I need to upgrade from my crappy omni power throttle body.

It fucken stick all the time and I can't get it to rest consistantly

Any tricks to fixing a sticking throttle body?

What other options are reliable, solid, trust worthy buy once never worry about again?
Old 08-28-2014, 10:48 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: THROTTLE BODY EXPERTS

does the cable move in both directions freely?
Old 08-28-2014, 11:27 AM
met
Honda-Tech Member

I have no experience with the omni power tb however, have half shafted bored and modified many stock units. Assuming you don't have a sticky cable. Most Honda shafts are weak and have a bit of torsional flex to them, most of the time when the throttle plate digs into the aluminum it wedges makes it stick to add if the shaft is twisting it adds to the problem. Solution, ensure good clean and lightly oiled bearings, can be testing by opening and closing by hand and feel. If that checks out, then adjust the screw that controls the closing of the throttle body. When adjusted right there will be NO sticking but if light is shined through most of the light will be blocked. Once that is set you need to adjust the idle screw, there is a procedure in the Honda manual. Its something like discontent the iac valve and adjust the screw so the car idles at 650. If you car has after market cams just do you're best to get in the ball park. Hope this helps some!
Old 08-28-2014, 11:59 AM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Originally Posted by sleepencivic
does the cable move in both directions freely?
On my ems I see it rest at 0.9 and if depress the pedal smoooth to 35 percent and return to idle it sticks at 2.5 and I have to give it a quick press to close at 0.9 the entire range is smooth besides this part. At idle
Old 08-28-2014, 12:01 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Originally Posted by met