Notices

questionable used T3?????

Old 02-13-2005, 08:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default questionable used T3?????

I'm a turbo noob planning a custom/junkyard turbo set up. I recently got an old T3 on ebay. Seller claims it made good boost has very little shaft play and worked fine. How much shaft play is too much? I moved it up and down and side to side and it moves, but very very little and it indeed spinds freely. it doesnt look like it was blowing any oil through the intake however there is one thing about it that does concern me. This is an internally wastegated turbo and inside of the waste gate housing there are two hair line cracks around the wastegate hole where the flapper is at. I have read in a couple of places online that this is a common thing for internally wastegated turbos of older age and that they usually dont cause too much of a problem. I realize this is something that could possibly be open for debate so I'm open for feedback on what you guys think. I paid 160 for the turbo so hopefully I didnt get ripped off too bad. Is it not a bad item for a beginnner turbo?
Old 02-13-2005, 08:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: questionable used T3????? (Civic driven01)

just take it easy...should be ok....ive heard the same...maybe a little sealant...be safe
Old 02-13-2005, 10:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: questionable used T3????? (yehiknowrite)