Notices

OBD2-OBD1 questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2006, 11:24 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OBD2-OBD1 questions

I'm new to hondas but I plan on turboing my GSR and having it tuned with neptune. I know I need to get an OBD1 ecu, but what is the best one to get. Does anyone have a breakdown as to what is the best to get, I've heard P72 or P28. P72 is really expensive, I know it offers IAB and knock sensor support, but is that all?

Also, is there anything else I need to change? I've heard I need to change the distributor, but wasn't sure.

Thanks.
Old 07-13-2006, 06:03 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: OBD2-OBD1 questions (nebulight)

bump
Old 07-13-2006, 07:05 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Give us a little more info.

Basically, if you want to convert to OBD1 you need a conversion harness and and ECU. The ECU depends on your motor and what you need.

If you have a B16 or LS/V and dont need IAB or Knock, just get any P28 or Converted Non-Vtec (p28 equivalent).

If you need knock, then you must get one with knock...any P30, P61 or P72 ECU will work fine.

If you need both knock and IAB, you need a P72

If you only need IAB and no knock, any converted P28 will work with the extra components for IAB control

Thats a basic summary...let me know if you need help with any of that!
Old 07-13-2006, 07:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: OBD2-OBD1 questions (xenocron)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by xenocron &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Give us a little more info.

Basically, if you want to convert to OBD1 you need a conversion harness and and ECU. The ECU depends on your motor and what you need.

If you have a B16 or LS/V and dont need IAB or Knock, just get any P28 or Converted Non-Vtec (p28 equivalent).

If you need knock, then you must get one with knock...any P30, P61 or P72 ECU will work fine.