Notices

Injector Issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2010, 06:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Injector Issues

So about a month ago I noticed my car began to run nearly a point leaner, didn't really think too much of it as I found out a day before I pulled the long block to sell it. I got to thinking about it today since I am getting everything ready to put the car back together and decide I will pull my injectors to send out and be checked out. When I pulled them I noticed a black sludge built up on the tips/nozzles of the injectors. It is very sticky, I couldn't find any traces of it in the intake manifold oddly enough, and know it wasn't in the ports of the head as they were very clean when I pulled it apart. The car is on e85, though I have been using the same gas from the same station for ~4 years now in other cars, and this car for a little over a year. Any ideas as to why this is happening now? I change the filter regularly as well.

sorry for the photo quality, all I have is my phone but it should get the idea across.
Old 10-11-2010, 04:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Injector Issues

stop running e85... retune for regular pump gas. e85 gums **** up......

i NEVER seen injectors like that unless something else was being poured into the tank other than gasoline.....
Old 10-11-2010, 05:23 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Would rather not, I am more curious as to if it's just the fuel gumming up, if it is taking something out of the tank or filter, or if it is eating away at the lines. If it is just the fuel then I will just check my injectors regularly it takes a few minutes and the car is not a daily driver. However if its one of the other components to the fuel system I would like to just replace it.
Old 10-11-2010, 05:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Subscribed because I've always been interested in E85.