Notices

Going to build a turbo setup for the 1st time. Got some questions.

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2004, 04:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going to build a turbo setup for the 1st time. Got some questions.

Ok, i've decided i'm going to piece together a kit and turbo the d16y7 in my 96 Hatch. I have never done this before, but I have friends with lots of experience doing this kinda stuff so were going to be working on this over the next couple weeks.

Anyways, basically, i'm looking at this kit, for the basics, the manifold, turbo, flanges, etc. http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors...33742

This is what i've picked up so far: a 31x6x2.75 intercooler, and a Walbro 255 lph high pressure fuel pump. Was planning on using those with that kit on the ebay link i posted above. My friend said we'll run a 12.1 fmu, i'm not really sure about all the fuel stuff, i'm a newb when it comes to this.

Basically I have a few questions, what all am I going to need to do for fuel delivery, i've already got the fuel pump. Will the stock injectors be able to handle it? Also, what would I need for tuning or just managment, do I need to get like an safc or would somethin like hondata or uberdata be required to get this setup to run correctly on my car. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 12-29-2004, 06:03 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Depending on what you want theres diff ways to go.

If you want a decent kit that is reliable and drivable. Thats easy. Pick up a greddy blue box for management and run stock injectors.
Cant get any simpler than that.

If you plan on more, look into uberdata, you might have a friend who can tune for you.

Do not buy ebay special turbo kits. The manifolds USUALLY crack. And it been said that the turbos seize pretty quickly.

Homemadeturbo.com is the way to go.

Check it out.
Old 12-29-2004, 06:23 PM
Who is Mr Robot?

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: (Dr. D-Series)