Notices

Garrett gurus a quick question

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2005, 10:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garrett gurus a quick question

I just found a great deal on a garrett ta3405 (the comp wheel was upgraded to a V-trim wheel). The turbo is a .60 a/r with a v-trim wheel on the compressor side and a .58 a/r with an o-trim wheel on the hot side. Here is the compressor map: http://64.225.76.178/catalog/compmaps/fig7.html

I am looking to run this on my gsr (freshly rebuilt block). I want between 350-400whp. Is this a good turbo for my setup? I have done the math and it looks like it would work with some boost control from 12psi on up. Any opinions?? I am new to turbos and have just begun to understand to read compressor maps. I have done teh math and it seems to be a decent turbo, but I have very little experience with these things and it seems that the wisdom gained through experience is more important than book smarts only. TIA.

Oh, btw the boost control is not an issue as I have a decent ems.
Old 08-11-2005, 02:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Garrett gurus a quick question (KeyserSoze)

bump
Old 08-11-2005, 05:08 PM

Received 234 Likes on 209 Posts

In the upperband you will definately be out of the efficiency range of that turbo as well as not reach the power goal that you need with this turbo. The P Trim exhaust wheel works to a good point, but honestly, that compressor efficiency is not very good. You're out of the efficency range in 3 areas of the compressor island.

You're right, your math is really off.
Old 08-12-2005, 10:04 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (TheShodan)