Notices

block guard vs. sleeves?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2003, 07:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default block guard vs. sleeves?

I am new to the turbo are starting to create my first turbo setup. I am looking to run 16lbs (maybe less) and need to here opinions o block guard vs. sleeves. I am leaning toward the block guard right now due to the price factor but I will hold out to get it sleeved if I have to. The block is a B16 with 8-5-1 JE pistons with crower rods.
Old 06-11-2003, 07:55 AM

Default Re: block guard vs. sleeves? (NVMYSi)

But JDM means your FAAAASSSSTTT lol sorry dude just teasing

the major difference between the 2 is that a block guard will increase strength up top but will leave the lower end of the sleeves to break or walk causing it to break right below the block guard... some people that i know got shops to press them in and it warped their bore size in each cylinder so they had to get it bored ... but some are very lucky with them , im going sleeves next summer its worth the wait to get a job that is strong top to bottem (my .02) but then its not perfect either if they sink you just wasted all that money but the sleeves are alot stronger , but if you go with the guard i cant see over 11-12 with it unless its tuned like a mother.
Old 06-11-2003, 09:24 AM

Default Re: block guard vs. sleeves? (b20turboic)