Notices

balancing rotating assembly?

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2006, 04:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default balancing rotating assembly?

The machine shop wants $200 to balance the rotating assembly for my b16. My question is, should I do it, I would like to rev about 1k over redline, my goal is to use a t3/t67 or maybe gt35r, Those compressor maps show the turbos to be very efficient(unless I'm reading wrong...I am a noob) at that engine speed. THis is a stock sleeved engine. I am currently running a t3/t4 .63hot side. The car responds really well when I take it to those levels(I know its a bad idea). So will balancing the assembly make those rpms a little safer. Is it worth $200 in terms of safer operating at those rpms.
Old 02-18-2006, 04:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: balancing rotating assembly? (MotorMouth)

Yes balancing the engine will be one of the most important things to do when building a motor.
If you dont balance the motor you are basically throwing all the money away that you spent in the first place.
Old 02-18-2006, 04:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: balancing rotating assembly? (urbansi)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by urbansi &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Yes balancing the engine will be one of the most important things to do when building a motor.
If you dont balance the motor you are basically throwing all the money away that you spent in the first place.</TD></TR></TABLE>

um, no.
Old 02-18-2006, 04:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: balancing rotating assembly? (Boostage)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by Boostage &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">

um, no.</TD></TR></TABLE>

can i have more of answer than that, especially when reving to 10k
Old 02-18-2006, 04:39 PM