Notices

Autometer Cobalt Gauges

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2007, 11:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Autometer Cobalt Gauges

Hey I'm new to all the turbo stuff, but I like the autometer cobalt gauges. Full-race GT35R..bout 480-500 on pump. My questions are....

1.I want all electrical and not mechanical gauges right?

2.For the boost gauge should I get the one with Vac as well?

3.For Fuel pressure I'd wanna get the 100psi read out right? Not the 30psi.

4.Is this the order from most to least important? I am asking so I know where I should mount them so I can see the important ones the easiest.

Wideband, Boost, Oil Temp, Oil Pressure, EGT, Fuel Pressure

Modified by totsie7944 at 3:12 PM 9/22/2007

Modified by totsie7944 at 3:14 PM 9/22/2007
Old 09-22-2007, 12:54 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Autometer Cobalt Gauges (totsie7944)

1. Basically yes.

2. Yes, it's nice to see how much vacuum you're pulling.

3. Correct, the 30 psi ones are for carbureated cars.

4. I wouldn't say so. From those you listed, here's the order I would put them in

Wideband, Oil Pressure, Fuel Pressure, EGT, Oil Temp, Boost

Boost is actually pretty unimportant to me, IMHO. Unless you're adjusting a boost controller and want to see how much you're actually making you don't really need one that bad, most ECU's have a boost cut built in. Oil pressure and wideband are self explanitory because they can help you save your motor, fuel pressure will let you know if a pump is going wrong or whatever, EGT can tell you if your timing is way out of whack, and oil temp obviously to check if you're running hot.

Although normal coolant temp is more important than fuel pressure to me, anyways.
Old 09-22-2007, 12:59 PM

Default Re: Autometer Cobalt Gauges (tokesGTR)

Thanks man. Really helpful.

As for coolant, I was pretty much going to rely on my stock gauge to make sure its not hella hot or anything. I figured between that and the oil temp gauge I would be safe...?