Notices

About to get tuned! Anything else I am missing??

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2006, 08:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default About to get tuned! Anything else I am missing??

My last thread got stolen by my Llamas.. I'll post a new one. Sorta-new questions anyways.

Tuning Appointment confirmed today. The first weekend of sept (2nd-3rd) my sol will be tuned in middle-state NC.

I need to finish my oil pan and add oil and crank her up. Start up will be someday this week. What all do you guys sujest I do before I start up and while its idling to operating temps, what should I check for? So far I got..

- Obvious fuel/oil leaks
- Major exhaust leaks
- Idle speed/ smoothness of the idle (running 750s + 255HP on a chipped p28, might be a bit rough)

Should I mix up some soap or something in a spray bottle and spray all around my pipings and ****? Check for vacuum leaks or whatever?

5w 30 synthetic A-OKAY?

Bit nervous since its my first build-up and around 95% of it has been done by myself and my brother. Neither of us have ANY experience in this field. Hell I didnt even know how to install my air intake some months ago. But now here I am putting together this beast by myself (with the help of many How To guides on this kick *** forum). From installing the injectors/fuel pump, to assembling the turbo and mounting the intercooler. Ive never worked on an engine before and have no experience what so ever.

Tuning is 2-3 of sept. Birthday is a couple days before on the 31st. Will be one hell of a birthday. Im so excited.
Old 08-14-2006, 08:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

holy smokes thats awsome. Read Earl Laskeys article on initial start-up.

Before lighting her up for the first time, unplug the distributor and the 15a fuse for the ecu.

Basically use a non detergent 30wt oil and let the engine idle for 20 minutes, keep the revs between 1-3k rpm.

Change the oil after it idles for 20 minutes and filter.