Notices

93 Del Sol Si/D16Z6/5spd - turbo questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2016, 02:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 93 Del Sol Si/D16Z6/5spd - turbo questions

Hello everyone, my name is Kevin, and I just picked up a '93 Del Sol Si with the D16Z6 mated to a 5spd trans. I apologize in advance for the length of this post.

I have been reading for days. I have read so many suggestions and combos, that it is a bit overwhelming, so I decided to reach out and ask for help (even though my research indicates I will be flamed for not doing enough research....please be kind)

First, I am 41 years old. I am a high school math teacher, and I am not a boy racer...anymore. Not that I have a problem with boy racers, just that's not who I am now. In my youth, I owned an '88 tbird with the turbo 2.3 for around 15 years, and I wrenched on it the whole time I had it. T3/t4 hybrid, FMIC, 255 walbro, Kirban FPR, 3" downpipe to dynomax, etc...I absolutely loved the feel and sound of the turbo, but I always wished it was in a lighter car.

I need some guidance with the del sol. I will lay out what my goal is since that seems to be the first question asked:
I would like to keep the Z6 and turbo it.
I don't want to do a swap.
I am looking for 200 to 250 hp at the wheels.
I am not made of money, but I have extra income, and I am in no hurry to get my project done, so I can buy parts over time and build as I go.

My daily is an Infiniti G35 Coupe. The del sol was bought simply as a project. I'm not looking to drag race it. I just want a nice peppy fun car that I can turn wrenches on and that has that turbo feel and sound that I miss so much.