Notices
Engine Management and Tuning Crome, NepTune, Hondata, AEM, MOTEC

Solid Cel in Crome every time ectune basemap runs mint

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 12:23 PM
wrenchin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Solid Cel in Crome every time ectune basemap runs mint

ok, lemme start by saying i'm still a noob with the actual art of tuning, and burning chips and all of that. i'm learning by the day, but its been frustrating with this car.

setup is, greddy kit on a 96 gsr. 450s, obd1 conversion harness and chipped p06 with vtec. the ecu is fine. right now, the car is running on an ectune basemap from xenocron, and it runs great. watching the wideband, it just needs some leaning out in vacuum and a little smoothing in boost. soooooo, my friend luke (lkailburn on here) has been attempting to tune my car. problem is, the car refuses to run a crome basemap. he has a willem burner, and has burned 100s of chips with it. we found out the basemap xeno sent me in ectune is nearly identical to a crome map available on his site. we've tried downloading this map and putting it on a chip, but we get a solid cel every time. the car will start up and idle fine, which is weird. but it throws the cel. we've tried making completely new basemaps too, to no avail. everything throws a solid cel. we've tried 4 different chips, his willem burner, my burn1 burner, and two different laptops. i deleted crome, re-installed it, deleted my burn1 software and re-installed it, and swapped to another good ecu. no luck. luke summed it up best when he said, "it seems like the car is infected by ectune, and refuses to run on anything else."

does anyone have any ideas? or can someone send me a known good GSR map so i can try it? i really want to get the car tuned asap.

one other thing... are my IABs in my gsr manifold default open or closed? i cant control them with a p30 base code, so if they are default closed i wanted to zip tie them open.
Old 04-20-2008, 12:55 PM
moderator emeritus