Notices
Engine Management and Tuning Crome, NepTune, Hondata, AEM, MOTEC

P06 Vtec Conversion?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2011, 03:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P06 Vtec Conversion?

Alright I just picked up a P06 Computer and had a few questions. This is my first attempt to chipping and tuning. Im planning on using Crome. I'm sure there's plenty of people here that have tuned with it. The engine setup is a B18C1 with an LS crank and ITR pistons and rods. So heres the questions:

1. Can I use this kit from Moates ( http://www.moates.net/honda1-honda-e....html?cPath=69 ) to tune with Crome? I know that I need to get the BURN2 Chip Programmer ( http://www.moates.net/burn2-chip-pro....html?cPath=69 ) correct?

2. Will this kit from Moates allow VTEC to work? If not, what kit do i need to buy and is there a write-up somewhere?

3. The HondaLog cable they sell on Moates (http://www.moates.net/hondalog-p-79....Path=69)...Can i use it to burn the chip or do I need to get the BURN2 Chip Programmer?
Old 07-21-2011, 03:56 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: P06 Vtec Conversion?

bump
Old 07-21-2011, 04:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

1. Yes, you can use that kit to socket your ECU for a chip and use Crome... And u need a burn2 to burn a chip...

2. No it will not allow VTEC to work, VTEC is hardware as well as software... The P06 is a non VTEC ECU... You will have to add some stuff for VTEC to work... Its a bit more work for a novice, but if your comfortable with a soldering iron, then go for it... Otherwise get a P28 and start there...

You first need to crack open your ECU and find out which board you have and order the right kit, the board number is found imprinted on the board at the top:

If you have a 11F0 board:
http://www.moates.net/vtec11f0-conve....html?cPath=69

If you have a 1720 board:
http://www.moates.net/vtec1720-conve....html?cPath=69

3. Honda log cable is just for logging data, you will need an emulator to tune on the fly...