Classic Hondas All Pre-1988 Hondas.

My Dream 85 Accord -- Is it Possible?

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2014, 08:46 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My Dream 85 Accord -- Is it Possible?

OK--so I'm new to this site and have never actually worked on cars before, but I have a number of friends who have a lot of experience with them. By trade, I'm a math tutor, but I worked on computers years before deciding to help kids and teens learn arithmetic, algebra, geometry, and calculus. I also have a lot of woodworking experience so I'm hoping my current mechanical skills (both computers/electronics and wood) can translate nicely to automobiles. As an academic, I do study things when I need them replaced on my cars (both current and past) so I have some idea what I'm talking about, but I'm no expert.

Anyhow, when I was a kid, our main vehicle was an 85 Accord sedan. It was the dark blue color (I want to say it was called sonic blue?) and was in our family for 15 years until the carburetor finally went. It was a rebuilt carburetor, and I'm pretty sure the guy who rebuilt it had no idea what he was doing. The only other known problem besides routine wear and tear (such as brakes--this car was driven mostly around western PA) was a timing belt which failed unexpectedly on the turnpike around ten years of age (I think this was around the 70K mark, which I know is about when you should get it replaced). This was a good, reliable vehicle, but its best years came when my mom drove it. When my dad got the car after my mom's station wagon purchase, things started falling apart. This guy was hard on cars, didn't maintain them well, and knows even less about cars than I do.

For sake of completeness, this car had a 5-speed manual, LX trim package, and the top of the line stereo available that year.