Notices
Classic Hondas All Pre-1988 Hondas.

85 CRX Swap what to do???

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 05:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 85 CRX Swap what to do???

I'm new to the Honda/Acura scene but have been a BMW tech for sometime now. I have a chance to buy a fairly clean low mileage CRX for almost nothing and was looking into swaps. It looks like the two choices are the ZC Dohc and the B series using a mount kit. I've been doing some homework and it looks that a turbo ZC would work but to do it right w/a built motor It would cost as much to just drop an ITR/CTR swap and have factory reliability with good power stock or with bolt ons. Anyone done either of these swaps and whats your opinion? Whats your set-up and would you change anything if you had a chance to do it over?

Mr Sik
Old 04-08-2008, 07:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

your budget and goals would help us MK1 experts give you some advice.

How much money are you planning to spend on this project?

What are your goals for the car? Fun daily driver or a primary race car?
Old 04-08-2008, 07:35 PM

Default Re: (funkmaster)

Nah, this would be a fun car. I've always wanted an early CRX hell everyone had one in high school. I might use it for ocasional Auto X(prolly SM) and DE's. As for budget??? I've got about $7k to start and $5k yearly to add/play budgeted. I'm in no hurry so waiting for what I want isn't a big deal as I already have an Acura daily and 325ix weekender. I'd like a small, nimble, and strong running fun car. A sleeper so to say. Plain rapper with everything under the hood and in the chassis.
Old 04-08-2008, 07:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

if youve got that kind of scratch to spend, id definitely go for the B swap. You can expect to spend at least $3000 to get it done, but IMO is worth it if you want a high amount of HP and have the car be reliable.
Old 04-08-2008, 08:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member