Notices
Audio / Security / Video Sound Systems, Alarms, Electronics

Viper 5002 - protect internal piezo’s??

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2009, 08:43 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Icon6 Viper 5002 - protect internal piezo’s??

1998 Honda Civic EX Sedan 5-Speed
Viper 5002 alarm system

Relay for 3 sirens (30 amp SPDT)
- 86 (H1/3) brown
- 30 main siren and 2 mini piezo’s
- 85 ground
- 87 constant 12V

With the above setup, can I protect the internal siren's if the one under hood is cut and shorted? If so, please explain how. Please keep in mind I'm a novice.

Thanks in advance.
Joseph
Old 10-19-2009, 10:03 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Location: 99 probs but a stolen car aint 1, ca, cerritos/fullerton
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Viper 5002 - protect internal piezo’s??

First you should not have the siren under the hood were it can be tampered with. If its going under the hood it should be were a theif can not get to it or tamper with any wires to it. Under the battery tray is a good spot. 3 sirens is really to much IMO. Thats putting alot of strain on the dei 520t back up battery that you should have. Never mind I see that you have a relay. Use the relay to power any siren that can be tampered with. It will be isolated from the alarm by the relay.
Old 10-19-2009, 10:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Icon6 Re: Viper 5002 - protect internal piezo’s??

Originally Posted by wrx-killer-Sti-eater
First you should not have the siren under the hood were it can be tampered with. If its going under the hood it should be were a theif can not get to it or tamper with any wires to it. Under the battery tray is a good spot. 3 sirens is really to much IMO. Thats putting alot of strain on the dei 520t back up battery that you should have. Never mind I see that you have a relay. Use the relay to power any siren that can be tampered with. It will be isolated from the alarm by the relay.
Hello,
Does the relay wiring setup look right to you?