Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

Integra Rally Car Project

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2009, 10:15 AM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Integra Rally Car Project

So, this is my first post, and I am new to the forum ( not new to forums in general ). I wanted to join this forum because I find it is best to consult with those who know best on project cars, and you guys know best.

So here is the background on my project:

I am a college student from western Michigan (where nothing ever happens) and am getting bored with "collegy" stuff. So I have decided to build a rally car to use on any of the thousands of miles of ORV trails, and amateur rally races in Michigan.

I have a budget of between 5-10K to build a car doing all my own wrench work. I should have no problem assembling the car, or fabricating any parts I may need. Where I run into problems is finding parts. Not only have I never built an Integra up, but I have never worked on a Honda before ( I have always been a Mitsubishi fanboy), but I feel the Integra is ideally suited to FWD rally racing.

In this thread I will post pics of my progress ( it will be slow at first ) and hopefully receive input from you guys about what you like, what you hate, and what I am screwing up.

This brings me to my first question: Will any B18B fit a 94-2001 integra? I am planning on buying the engine first, getting it hot tanked, having the crank balanced, porting and polishing the heads, resurfacing the cylinder walls and the head gasket surface. If I buy a 96 b18b out of an integra, as long as I get the ECU with it, will I have any problems putting it into a 94 LS, or did they not change the engines enough to cause a problem?