Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Audio / Security / Video
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2004, 11:46 AM   #1
Kavehman
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Kavehman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia, Australia
Posts: 1,004
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Does it make a difference how long ground wire is ?

I want to locate my amp somewhere else in my car, I am wondering if it makes a difference if my ground wire is longer than the one provided originally by the wiring kit

If it does, ideally how long should my ground wire be ?
__________________
none
Kavehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2004, 12:33 PM   #2
Kyles ej1
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: bay area, ca, USA
Posts: 5,843
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Kyles ej1
Default Re: Does it make a difference how long ground wire is ? (Kavehman)

the only difference it will make is if its not long enough your amp wont turn on
Kyles ej1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2004, 01:24 PM   #3
EBP_SI
Garage is empty, add now
 
EBP_SI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto, On, Canada
Posts: 1,652
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to EBP_SI
Default Re: Does it make a difference how long ground wire is ? (egcoupe)

ideally you'd like to keep all the wiring as short as possible. where did you plan on mounting your amp that doesnt have a possible ground spot close by?
__________________
audiobahn [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthdown.gif[/img] Rear speakers [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthdown.gif[/img]
Sony [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthdown.gif[/img] BOSE [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthdown.gif[/img]

[quote=rochesterricer]99% of people wouldn't know a killer sound system if it walked up and smacked them in the face with a glass *****.[/quote]
EBP_SI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2004, 01:25 PM   #4
D'Ecosse
Garage is empty, add now
 
D'Ecosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pleasanton, CA, usa
Posts: 90
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Does it make a difference how long ground wire is ? (Kavehman)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kavehman
...If it does, ideally how long should my ground wire be ?
It does make a difference- you can get as much voltage drop across the ground wire as you can on the positive supply.
Relocating your sub shouldn't be an issue though - wherever it goes, you want to make the ground wire as short as possible (say ~ 18") and ensure you have a good solid connection to the chassis. Make sure you clean any paint off your ground point with some emery cloth and use a star washer to get good "bite" between the terminal & chassis. Bolt it solidly to the body with bolts, lock washers & nuts - no puny sheet metal screws!
Best thing is to use a proper grounding terminal, like one from stinger or whoever takes your fancy. The wire gauge for the ground should be at least the same as that for the power.
D'Ecosse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2004, 05:44 PM   #5
Kavehman
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Kavehman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia, Australia
Posts: 1,004
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Does it make a difference how long ground wire is ? (Kavehman)

thanks for all the advice guys, I had the amp mounted on the back of my box, i moved it so its sitting in a more vented area, i had to lengthen ground wire byabout 3 inches for it to fit, so i dont think i have affected it that much.

Thanks a lot
__________________
none
Kavehman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
amp, be, bolts, car, difference, fit, ground, honda, insight, kit, lengthen, long, make, wire, wires

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:33 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details