Notices
Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

D17a1 to D17a2 questions (02 civic LX)

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2017, 12:54 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon5 D17a1 to D17a2 questions (02 civic LX)

Hey all! I just got off the phone with my mechanic, and my cylinder heads are going bad, probably due to a hit n run a few months ago, so i'm seeing this as an excuse to upgrade to a d17a2 from an a1. I can replace almost anything stock, but i'm a newbie when it comes to mods and upgrades. What kind of upgrades can I do once I get an a2? I've heard of a crower stage 1 camshaft that I can put in, and I'm planning on getting a short ram intake afterward, but that's about it. I've heard something about header polishing and things, but I haven't done any research on that yet. The person I bought the car from put on a 2 and 3/4 inch exhaust pipe, will that be enough for possible future upgrades? is there anything more noticeably powerful than the stage one worth the extra money? I'd love to hear any and all suggestions that I can do to the a2, even if it gets a little pricey. Thank y'all in advance for the advice!

P.S. I would also greatly appreciate if anyone happens to have a guide or video or something for an engine swap from the a1 to the a2.
Old 03-18-2017, 09:33 PM
Sanji

Received 35 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Re: D17a1 to D17a2 questions (02 civic LX)

Did you take the time to look through this thread? https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-...sting-2101211/

There's answers for your questions within that thread. As for "upgrades" to a D17A2... the best upgrade would be a K-series swap instead of any D17.
Old 03-18-2017, 11:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts