Notices
Audio / Security / Video Sound Systems, Alarms, Electronics

Yet another Sub & Amp thread.

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2007, 01:12 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yet another Sub & Amp thread.

Ok, first off. This will be somewhat lengthy ( so you might wanna get a sammach ) and will require KNOWLEDGEABLE opinions on the products provided as well as input on unbiased suggestions. I'm a NEWBIE to the audio field and would like to be understood as such. I'm learning as I go along but i'm FAR from what alot of ppl in here know/understand.

The Current:

I have a 92 camry sedan as of current i'm running two polk 6.5 comps in the front and polk 6x9's in the rear. Controlled by a Pioneer deh-4900 deck and pushed by a kicker zx350.4 amp. This all sounds fairly decent together ( although rattles are becoming more of a problem. I already ordered the fatmat xtreme speaker kit to try and combat this problem.. if it works i'll order a 50ft roll and do my trunk and doors ).

The Goals:

I'm looking for a nice 12". My music preferences range from 80-90% rap, r&b and reggae with a 10-20% choice for rock and stuff. I'm interested in decent spl ( i do love the bump ) but i don't want to sacrafice TOO much SQ to do it. I'm looking in the range of spending $300-400 ( i'll push to 450 if needed ). With the prices of online stores i frequent ( techronics, sonicelectronix etc ) i feel this is very doable for both amp and sub/box.

The Subs:

Now in my research among what i've understood i've compiled a relatively small list of subs that might work for my goals. As you'll see in the choices, I think a rms range of 300-600w will be sufficent ( i'm aware that is a fairly decent jump but bare with me ). I typed what i felt would be the most important as far as specs. I'll start with the max power i'm looking for then go down.

1. DIAMOND AUDIO D6
RMS WATT: 600
SURROUND: rubber
IMPEDANCE: 4 ohms
FREQ RESPONSE: 22-250hz
SEALED BOX VOL: .875