imported welding equipment, is it good enough yet?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2013, 12:58 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default imported welding equipment, is it good enough yet?

Ever since I sold my miller syncrowave 350 back in '09, I've been missing having a tig welder. I really want a miller dynasty 200dx, but that thing is $$$. So is the comparable lincoln inverter. With prices that high, it would seem to be about the perfect time for another company to come in and undercut them. Enter for example the Thermal Arc 186 inverter, and the Everlast powertig 250ex, also an inverter. I think the Everlast units are imported from China, and the Thermal Arc units are assembled here with parts made in China.

I have no experience with either of those, do any of you guys?
Old 01-15-2013, 02:37 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: imported welding equipment, is it good enough yet?

I just recently picked up an eastwood ac/dc tig for at home. Price is great and so far I only welded some scrap 304. I havent tried aluminum on it yet. My only complaint is the pedal is a little weird to operatte compared to the one I use at work on our miller.
Old 01-15-2013, 03:25 AM
Honda-Tech Member

i also have the Eastwood and love it...The pedal is a little strange, but even if you do have problems, their customer service is top notch and they'll get you fixed right up
Old 01-15-2013, 04:34 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Anyone else have experience with these Chinese products? I too am in the market for a an inexpensive TIG to do small projects. I don't intend on using one of these types of welders for a full cage weld-up.. I only intend on doing exhaust or charge pipe work, and other small welding jobs. I've used Miller TIG's and MIG's in the past, but never once have I even seen one of these Chinese products in use. Will I be setting myself up for failure by purchasing one of these?
Old 01-15-2013, 08:43 AM
Honda-Tech Member