Transmission & Drivetrain Gearboxes, Differentials, Clutches
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

question regarding integra ls automatic

Old 03-14-2019, 08:36 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon5 question regarding integra ls automatic

first of all, please bear with me as I'm very new to building or modifying cars. I have a car that was given tot me in high school by my late father, the only problem is that it's an automatic transmission. I know the vehicle itself is basically worth nothing, but it does have a lot of sentimental value. I don't want to convert it to manual (seems very expensive) I was told that having the transmission rebuilt would allow it to hold more power, therefore enable me to modify the engine to make it perform better. I'm wondering if there's any truth to that? I don't the car to magically jump from 140 horsepower to 500 or anything like that, I'm mainly interested in bumping it up to 190-200 horsepower if possible. (The car is a 1998 Acura Integra LS Non-VTEC). So, would having the transmission rebuilt really allow horsepower gains through more mods? or should i just keep it factory stock?
Old 03-14-2019, 11:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: question regarding integra ls automatic

There is no aftermarket performance modification that I know of anymore for the honda/acura auto trans. There use to be a few companies that offered a "shift kit" and torque converter but these weren't flying off the shelves. Therefore, they were discontinued as far as I know. It's expensive to get 200 horsepower in naturally aspirated form. More expensive than a manual transmission swap. You are better off throwing on the traditional bolt-ons (intake, header, exhaust) and call it a day. The car will still run and drive fine and you may find an additional 10-15 horsepower and better throttle response from the car. The transmission will have no problems supporting these modifications if it's in good shape.