Notices
Tech / Misc Tech topics that don't seem to go elsewhere.

What is compression?

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2003, 05:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is compression?

I know I'll get ragged for this thread, but I'm new to the Honda scene, so I'm still learning. When someone is talking about compression, what are they referring to? I know that my HB has 11:5 compression, but I have no idea what that means. Is that good or bad? Help?!
Old 04-15-2003, 06:02 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: What is compression? (5thgenCory)

It's when you squeeze something together. In car terms, it's air and fuel squeezed together to make a big bang.

You sure your hatch has 11.whatever compression? What motor are you running.

Generally, you want high compression for an all motor setup, and low compression for a forced fed motor to reduce detonation(a bang in your motor, but a bad bang).
Old 04-15-2003, 06:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: What is compression? (lazy bum shaughn)

Compression, refering to cars and engines is the third of the 4 cycles of a 4 stroke engine.

In this stage, the piston goes up, compressing the air/fuel mixture in the cilinder, then the spark plug ignites the mixture. And the 4th stage begins: exhaust.

The compression ratio (CR) of an engine refers to how much the mixture is compressed.

A high compression ratio, gives more power, and is the best for a All motor setup.

A lower compression ratio, although gives less power, is the only way to go for a FI (Forced induction) setup...remember that a turbo or a supercharger already compresses air into the engine...if you have a high compression ratio already, then your engine is gonna suffer really bad.

And i agree with lazy bum shaughn...11.something looks really high for a hatch...what's your engine and setup???
Old 04-15-2003, 08:51 PM
Honda-Tech Member