Notices
Tech / Misc Tech topics that don't seem to go elsewhere.

Bleeding ABS system. Please help ('92 Accord)

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2001, 06:48 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Bleeding ABS system. Please help ('92 Accord)

A search has come up with nothing.
Please forgive my ignorance. I'm a shade-tree mechanic but still have much to learn. I'd like to bleed my ABS system.
The Helms manual is bewildering. I've quoted the instructions below. Special tools they list are "ALB checker" 07HAJ-SG0010A and "bleeder T-wrench" 07HAA-SG00100. I surely doubt (hope?) I don't need this electronic ALB checker thing. Could someone please tell me how to bleed my ABS system with good old-fashioned tools? Much thanks for help.

Here are the Helms manual instructions for ABS system bleeding:

1) Place the vehicle on level ground blah, blah, blah...
2) Disconnect the 6-P inspection (orange) connector from the cross-member under the passenger's seat and connect the inspection connector to the ALB checker.
3) Fill the modulator reservoir to the MAX level and install the reservoir cap.
4) Start the engine and allow it to idle for a few minutes, then stop it. Check the fluid level in the modulator reservoir and refill to the MAX level if necessary.
5) Bleed high-pressure fluid from the maintenance bleeder with the special tool.
6) Refill the modulator reservoir to the MAX level and install the reservoir cap.
7) Turn the Mode Selector switch of the checker to 2.
8) While depressing the brake pedal firmly, push the Start Test switch to operate the modulator. There should be kickback on the brake pedal. If not, repeat steps 5 to 8. Note: Continue to depress the brake pedal firmly when operating the checker.
9) Turn the Mode Selector switch to 3, 4 and 5. Perform step 8 for each of the test mode positions.
10) Refill the modulator reservoir to the MAX level and install the reservoir cap.
Old 10-06-2001, 07:09 PM
New User

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts