Notices
Road Racing / Autocross & Time Attack Road Racing / AUTOX, HPDE, Time Attack

Starting to rallycross... Which car?

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2009, 06:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting to rallycross... Which car?

Hey all,

I've been driving Mitsubishis (mainly my 3000GT) for quite a few years now, autocrossing, road racing, and I just started getting into rallycross. Well now I'm looking at getting a car to setup for SCCA rallycross that may also see double duty for autocrossing. I'm trying to prepare it for either stock or prepared fwd (need to learn to drive in the dirt before I go high hp, awd), but I'm not sure what car to go with. I was spoiled by driving an 08 4dr SI at a few events, but my rallycross budget isn't the highest. I'd like to stay under $4k for the car budget (not including safety mods, maintenance, etc...) I've really been leaning towards a 90-91 CRX SI, but I'm also looking at a 91 Civic SI HB. It looks like they're similar weight (about +100lbs for the civic), but what about everything else? I'll do all of the maintenance/mods myself and don't mind doing some research, but it turns out there aren't many people that rallycross these cars.

So any ideas/adive/experience?
Thanks in advance!
Old 08-13-2009, 08:47 PM
Ridin Dirty in Cali

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Re: Starting to rallycross... Which car?

When in rome?
Old 08-14-2009, 04:40 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Why not a 4wd eclipse?
Old 08-14-2009, 05:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member