Road Racing / Autocross & Time Attack Road Racing / AUTOX, HPDE, Time Attack

1991 Civic for Auto-x

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2009, 10:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 1991 Civic for Auto-x

I am in the process of buying a 1991 Civic that I will be setting up for my auto-x car. I want to keep the car mostly stock to start out with and eventually either supercharge or do a B16 swap or both.

First off I would like to know what suspension anyone would suggest for auto-xing. I've had a couple of people tell me to look into KYB AXG. I've read a little about the KYB's and some people say there are awesome for auto-x and other say they are only good for DD.

I'd also like to get some opinions on tires. I think I'm going to be running sticky street tires or r-compounds. I was looking into Falken Azenis or Victoracers for the street tires. I'm not sure on the r-compounds yet.

I am fairly new to doing research like this for a car, so any help that I can get is greatly appreciated.
Old 08-20-2009, 01:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: 1991 Civic for Auto-x

Keep it stock for the first few autocrosses, and just do some good maintenance when you get it.
Old 08-20-2009, 03:06 PM

I am going to be keeping it stock at least for the frist auto-x. But I know I'm not going to be happy with stock. I have auto-xed before in many different vehciles both on stock suspension and on coilovers and I know I'm going to want good suspension. It's my plan to learn the car how it is stock, and then see what kinda difference I can make with a better set-up.

I'm also buying this car from a friend and I know that the car is in good working order. I should not need to do much, if any maintenance.

One of my other friends who specializes in tuning Hondas will be getting it race ready as well.
Old 08-20-2009, 03:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member