Notices
Paint and Body Auto Body Repair, Painting and Prep

wetsand after fresh paint?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2007, 09:46 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default wetsanding correctly?

I recently just got my 97 SH painted and I wanted to wetsand my whole car as there is some orange peel in some parts.

Ok I just read the above posting on how to. One question I have is after a car has been painted how long should I hate to start wetsanding it? And should I wetsand by hand? And how do you know if youve wetsanded enough in on area?

After I wetsand: Do I wash the whole car down? and then use a buffer with polishing compound?

Sorry I am new to all this. Any info would be great.

Modified by Inextricabledrvr at 11:13 AM 10/17/2007
Old 10-17-2007, 10:33 AM

Default Re: wetsanding correctly? (Inextricabledrvr)

One question I have is after a car has been painted how long should I hate to start wetsanding it?
If it was sprayed in a bake booth and was baked for a full cycle, you should be able to start wetsanding a half hour to an hour after it's pulled out. If not, I would wait a few days, maybe a week to be safe.

And should I wetsand by hand?
Yes, with a sanding block.

And how do you know if youve wetsanded enough in on area?
Depends on what your intentions are. Do you want the clear flat like a show car, or do you just want to knock down some orange peel? If you want it flat you sand it till there is no orange peel, if you want to knock down the orange peel sand it till your happy with the texture.

Do I wash the whole car down?
Sure, if you want.

then use a buffer with polishing compound?
You'll want to use a rubbing compound first, detailers I'm sure will chime in with their method, so I won't even get into it...
Old 10-17-2007, 10:40 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: wetsanding correctly? (WihaSi)