Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

how to legalize swap?

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2005, 12:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to legalize swap?

ok...tried searching, couldnt really find what I was looking for.

im a hybrid newb, so bare wit me...

i bought my car back from insurance, and im going to drop my old motor into another car/chassis. lets say the car im dropping the motor into has a clean title.

after I drop in the motor, what would i normally do next to 'legalize' it? do i have to report it? do i report to my insurance using the VIN of the motor or chassis? and what else?

thx
Old 08-02-2005, 02:45 PM

Default Re: how to legalize swap? (yh23)

Just use the VIN off of the car you are putting the motor in. No big sweat. No insurance ajent in the world is going to search the EXACT code off your swap motor against the VIN code of your car. TONS, and I mean TONS of Mustang guys buy 4cylinder cars, and drop 5.0s in them, while keeping the 4cyl. registration. This cuts down on insurance and tag cost SEVERELY.
Old 08-02-2005, 04:28 PM

Default Re: how to legalize swap? (CWestAccord)

ok, so just use the VIN of the chassis.

what about this...what if I buy a salvaged car, and drop my old motor into that salvaged car.

In my state, I need to have the state patrol inspect the salvaged car before the title can be legally registered again. Do you think they will research the VIN vs the engine??
Old 08-02-2005, 05:52 PM

doubt it. Salvaged cars are inspected for safety reasons, not usually emissions. as long as it's not some wild *** NSX motor in a CRX, or something, they really shouldn't care too much. Check with the state patrol office, first. Just to make sure.
Old 08-02-2005, 06:11 PM

good shiet!

thx!
Old 08-07-2005, 12:01 PM